The Puccini family moved from Celle, a small mountain village on the right bank of the River Serchio, to the comune of Pescaglia.
In 1971, the people of Celle decided to change its name to “Celle dei Puccini” in the composer’s honour.
Giacomo spent his summers here as a child, in the family’s ancestral home. Following his father Michele’s death in 1864, Puccini’s mother Albina was forced to sell the villa for financial reasons, in order to support her large family.
In 1973, the Associazione Lucchesi nel Mondo acquired the villa, restoring the heart of the Puccini family, thanks to donations of memorabilia from the daughters of Giacomo’s sister Ramelde. Today, the villa includes a museum.
Discover the Puccini tour of